Weekly Feature

2017-04-20 / Education

School board candidate slate set for May elections

While Cheektowaga and Depew school districts are still finalizing budget proposals, the roster of candidates for school board elections is ready, as the deadline for candidate petitions passed Monday.

At Cheektowaga Central, four candidates will be vying for two seats. Incumbent Carol Kiripolsky is running for re-election, and newcomers Yvonne Douglass, Edward Schaefer and Kenneth Young are also aiming for a spot on the board, each of which carries a five-year term.

Incumbent Paul Nazzarett did not file for re-election.

In Cheektowaga-Sloan, incumbents Gary Sieczkarek and Denise McCowan are running unopposed for re-election to the two available seats. Each carries a five-year term.

At Cleveland Hill, incumbent Julie McNeil is running unopposed for re-election to a three-year term. It is the only seat up for election this year.

Maryvale also has one candidate running for one seat. Incumbent Jason Baier is running for re-election to a five-year term. Baier was appointed to the board in April 2014, after a seat was vacated.

In Depew, incumbent Donna Kapinos and newcomer Amy Doody will be running unopposed for the two available seats on the board.

Board President Barbara Staebell, whose term expires this year, will not be seeking re-election.

The Bee will publish candidate profiles of those running in contested elections at a later date.

Return to top