Weekly Feature

2017-05-18 / Front Page

School budgets pass in Cheektowaga districts


Budgets in all four Cheektowaga school districts passed voters’ muster Tuesday, including at Maryvale, where voters were asked to override New York’s property tax cap.

In Maryvale, voters approved the $43.2 million budget at a 762-201 clip, smashing through the 60 percent threshold required to override the cap. Additionally, Jason Baier was re-elected to a five-year term on the Board of Education, after garnering 795 votes. He ran unopposed.

At Cheektowaga Central, the $43.3 million spending plan passed 344-138. Central, the only district in Cheektowaga with contested Board of Education seats, saw Carol Kiripolsky re-elected to a seat, with 284 votes, and Edward W. Schaefer also winning a spot, with 245 votes. The two unsuccessful candidates, Yvonne H. Douglass and Kenneth L. Young, received 192 votes and 106 votes, respectively.

Voters also approved a Capital Improvements Reserve Fund by 382-100 and OK’d an ex-officio, non-voting member of the board by 405-76.

In Cheektowaga-Sloan, voters passed the district’s $35 million budget with a vote of 385-174.

Denise McCowan and Gary Sieczkarek garnered 393 and 356 votes, respectively, to win re-election to the Board of Education. They were running unopposed for the seats, which carry five-year terms.

Cleveland Hill residents overwhelmingly favored the district’s $31.5 million budget, with 241 yes votes to just 47 no votes. Julie McNeil, who was running unopposed for re-election to the Board of Education, was also tapped for another three-year term. She received 257 votes.

For Depew, the $42.8 million budget passed by a vote of 357-112.

Newcomer Amy Doody, with 383 votes, will join incumbent Donna Kapinos, with 331 votes, on the School Board.

Proposition 2, the district’s Vehicle Purchase Reserve Fund of $422,825, also passed in a vote of 389-76, and voters approved the sale of Dawson Field, at 19 Columbia Ave. in Depew, by 400-64 votes.

Return to top