Weekly Feature

2017-08-10 / Sports

Szydlowski to posthumously join Section VI Hall of Fame

Former Maryvale administrator Matt Szydlowski will be one of two posthumous inductees as part of the Section VI Hall of Fame Class of 2017.

The Class of 2017 induction ceremony is scheduled for a 5:30 p.m. start on Friday, Dec. 8, at The Columns Banquets, 2221 Transit Road, Elma. The evening will commence with a cash bar and dinner, followed by the induction ceremony.

Dinner reservations are $30 per individual. No advance payment is necessary, but reservations must be made by Nov. 22. Reservations can be made via email at section6@e1b.org or by calling Pauline Turski at 821-7581.

The Section VI Hall of Fame was established to honor and recognize those within its organization who excelled in their roles as athletes, administrators, coaches, officials, or contributors. The commitment to athletics made by those who comprise the Hall of Fame has contributed to the promotion, continuation and development of programs within Section VI.

Former Williamsville administrator Dr. James Rusin is this year’s other posthumous inductee. The other members of the class include Richard Diminuco (coach, Albion), Charlie Garfinkel (athlete, Bennett), John Hayes (athlete, Niagara Falls), Rich Kilgour (athlete, Niagara Wheatfield), Pat Monti (coach, LaSalle/Niagara Falls), Judith Otto (coach, Barker), Lou Rosselli (athlete, Royalton-Hartland), Art Serotte (athlete, Grover Cleveland), James Trampert (administrator, Orchard Park) and Harris Wienke (athlete, Niagara Wheatfield).

Return to top